Best Of Ourselves

Work Out Your Own Mind, Jack !

Importance of Being Healthy

When that cool, sparklingly white “medical picture” grabs your eye, you probably think I‘m going to muse over the health situation in my county. No, because everybody can see it, but another question is that a few of us can truly realize it. Health institution in my country looks like a huge business combination of smaller conglomerate organizations with its tycoons and employees.  It has its fatal medical errors made for the sake of money (here comes the moment to invite you to watch one of my favorite movies – „Awake“ ) and those Dr. House-like TV serials which motivate people by drawing an imaginative picture of how responsible and dedicated physicians should be in fact. So, on psychological basis, the abovementioned  “medical picture” creates in our imaginations an apparently delusive idea of so-called „perfect  medicine“.  There is no need for you to clearly understand what the medical situation in Bulgaria is, wheather it is perfectly good or not, but it is utterly essential to have realized how much the importance of being healthy means.

Yet well-known mysterious „summer virus“ which causes symptos of extremely high temperature, headache and dizziness gave its influence on me some days ago.  It was an awful experience not only because I was deprived of my every-day street fitness training and jogging, but also because I had already taken a lot of drugs and undergone something even more dangerous that I‘m going to tell you in the second paragraph.  I often dream about one of my favorite cars – Chevrolet Camaro or about luxurious vacation in Caribbean Islands, good college experience or excellent education.  At that very moment, however, I didn’t dream about such superficial things because nothing was more important to me than being happy and healthy.” Could I drive my fancy Chevrolet Cabrio if I was not in a good healthy condition?” or “Could I fully enjoy the crystal-blue waves of Caribbean Sea and the amazing huge palms of Caribbean beaches?”. “What could I feel of life if I was stuck in a wheel-chair till the end of it or what if I was deadly ill?”. These were the same questions I asked myself in that very moment because the essence of health is what let us be successful, happy, funny, dreamy, even angry or frustrated. It is what makes us alive, actually.

I had problems with my right toe for more than a year.  My nail started to grow sidewards sticking into the flesh and causing me a great sharp pain every time it touches something.  I overlooked this situation of mine and  ignored all the dangers I could have been exposed to later.  I took up a potassium permanaganate treatment which was followed by a frequent procedure of bandages of ichthyol and revanol. I whole-heartedly BELIEVED my toe would soon be fine, but it didn‘t work.  Yet,  I had much time to believe and believe,  and … believe.

I lot of time and pain passed away until I got disappointed to find out that it is not only the magic of belief as far as health concerns , but the combination of both – belief and medical help. Perhaps,  I am wrong – it might have just happened to me not trully to believe in that magical cure called belief.  Here comes the moment, however, to say that I strongly support the supernatural idea of the power of attraction which scientists are working on to prove its subconscious effects on human mind – the more positive we think and believe ,  the greater influence its power of attraction has on us … and vice versa.

This is not the clue, however, because my nail was urgently cut sideway and the swollen flash – surgically removed.  Although I theoretically knew lot aspects of neurology,  I had never before been under anaesthesia and I had no explanation of how could just a simple injection be so powerful to “freeze” all receptor cells in a local area so that a person cannot even feel the touch of the surgeon.  Yes, I didn’t believe because I had no experience of any previous operation,  but then the right moment suddenly came – three about-5-centimeters-long injections were stuck into the injured local area –that was the only pain of the whole operation.  It wasn‘t actually so frightening because the doctor was a real guy.

Before that medical intervention, however, I really believed that the pain would fade away,  but I took no action to prevent any further medical complications.  There is a big difference, you know, between what we believe and what we want to believe.  I believed my infection wouldn‘t recover without a medical intervention, but I wanted to believe it soon be magically cured.

No matter what I believed in or what I wanted to believe in … it is important that I believed, hoped and took a moral. It is essential that I‘m healthy now.

August 23, 2011 - Posted by | Experiences/Moral, Psychology and Science

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

